What are the obstructing conditions? | Disability Pension Assistance

If you have one or more injuries or a debilitating illness that prevents you from working, you may be eligible for financial assistance because of one of the Social Security Administration’s (SSA)-listed disabilities.

Each year, the SSA publishes a list of disabilities in a medical handbook called the Blue Book. To qualify for benefits, you must prove that you have one of the disabling Social Security conditions. Working with a disability attorney can help you file a convincing claim with the SSA.

What is on the SSA’s List of Disabilities?

Dozens of medical conditions qualify for disability benefits, with some of the most common types of disability conditions including COPD, stroke, musculoskeletal disorders, and advanced stages of various types of cancer. The SSA publishes its annual list of disabilities in the Blue Book. The applicant not only has to obtain a diagnosis of eligible disability status, but also must match the severity of symptoms listed in the Blue Book.

When a team of SSA medical examiners review your disability claim, the team examines the results of diagnostic tests, as well as detailed descriptions of treatment programs and physical therapy sessions. Common types of diagnostic tests include X-rays, MRIs, and CT scans. Imaging tests provide evidence of fractures, brain trauma, and damage to internal organs. If the Social Security Administration (SSA) determines that you have one of the disability conditions listed in the Blue Book, the federal government agency has the authority to approve your disability benefit claim.

In addition to the Blue Book, you may be eligible for financial assistance under the Compassionate Assistance Program. The Compassionate Allowance Program runs fast claims that include the worst cases of disability.

What if my status is not in the Blue Book?

If your medical condition is not listed in the Blue Book or you do not meet the criteria for symptom severity, do you have an alternative option to claim disability benefits? The answer is yes when the Social Security Administration (SSA) grants you a medical professional allowance.

The medical professional allowance includes a comprehensive review of your medical records to determine if you have a disability condition, but the condition is not listed in the Blue Book.

You also have the option of undergoing a residual functional ability assessment (RFC), which is one or more tests that measure your physical abilities and cognitive skills. The point of completing your application is for the SSA to determine if you can find another type of work that does not take advantage of your mental and/or physical limitations. For example, the doctor evaluating your RFC may ask you to complete some aerobic exercises to measure your endurance.

If the SSA rules that you cannot perform any kind of physical work, but that you can complete mentally challenging tasks, the federal government agency may require you to accept work that enhances your cognitive skills. The Social Security Administration (SSA) also has the power to approve a disability claim even if you don’t meet the medical guidelines listed in the Blue Book.

Get a free status assessment

Before you file a disability claim, meet with a Social Security attorney to make sure you make the most compelling claim. Your attorney may help you gather evidence, as well as file your complaint before the deadline.

Fill out your free case assessment today to connect with an independent participating attorney who signs up for the site.

Additional Resources

Source link

Related Posts